Zilla panchayat, Kodagu

Kodagu (Coorg), the thickly wooded grandeur on the Western Ghats, is the most beautiful hill station of Karnataka. It occupies an area of 4,102 square kilometers (1,584 sq mi) in the Western Ghats of southwestern Karnataka.As of 2001, the population was 548,561, 13.74% of which resided in the district’s urban centers, making it the least populous of the 30 districts in Karnataka. Kodagu is well known in the world for coffee and its “brave warriors”. Madikeri is the headquarters of Kodagu. Kodagu is home to the native speakers of Kodava language.

Much of Kodagu is used for agriculture. Characteristically and historically, paddy fields are found on the valley floors, with Coffee and pepper agro-forestry in the surrounding hills mainly near Madikeri. The most common plantation crop is coffee, especially Coffe robusta variety. Kodagu is the second coffee production region in India, after the Baba Budangiri hills in Chikkamagaluru district. Coffee revenue helped Kodagu to become one the richest districts in India.

Kodagu is considered rich with wildlife and has three wildlife sanctuaries and one national park: the Brahmagiri, Talakaveri, and Pushpagiri Wildlife Sanctuaries, and the Nagarhole National Park, also known as the Rajiv Gandhi National Park.

The main river in Kodagu is the Kaveri (Cauvery), which originates at Talakaveri, located on the eastern side of the Western Ghats, and with its tributaries, drains the greater part of Kodagu.

In July and August, rainfall is intense, and there are often showers into November. Yearly rainfall may exceed 4,000 millimeters (160 in) in some areas. highest temperatures occurring in April and May.

  The district is divided into the five administrative talukas: Madikeri, Virajpet, Somwarpet, Ponnampet and kushalanagar.

Read More

notification (2021-11-19 12:32:58)

District Portals
  • Bhoomi
  • Rural Digital Services
  • Adhaar Status
  • Sakala Services
  • Zilla Panchayat
  • Food Statistics
  • LPG/Ration Card Status
  • Geographical Area: 2196 sq km
  • Population: 96,21,551
  • Literacy Rate: 87:67%
  • Taluk : 5
  • Hobli: 20
  • Villages: 588
  • Urban Local Bodies: 6