Introduction :

The Department of Co-operation overseas the administration and functioning of various Co-operative Institutions namely Textiles, Sericulture, Industries, Animal Husbandry, Fisheries, Sugar, Horticulture, Agriculture and Irrigation and also assist the societies financially besides providing technical guidance and input.


Cooperatives are voluntary organizations, open to all persons capable of using their services and willing to accept the responsibilities of membership, without discrimination on the basis of gender, social status, racial, political ideologies or religious consideration.

Cooperatives are democratic organizations controlled by their members, who actively participate in setting their policies and decision making. Elected representatives of these cooperatives are responsible and accountable to their members.

Members contribute equitably and control the capital of their cooperative democratically. At least a part of the surplus arising out of the economic activity would be the common property of the cooperatives. The remaining surplus could be utilized benefiting the members in proportion to their shares in the cooperative.

Cooperatives are autonomous self-help organizations controlled by their members. If cooperatives enter into agreement with other organizations including government or raise capital from external sources, they do so on the terms that ensure democratic control by members and maintenance of cooperative autonomy.

Cooperatives provide education and training to their members elected representatives and employees so that they can contribute effectively to the development of these institutions. They also make the general public, particularly young people and leaders aware of the nature and benefits of cooperation.

Cooperatives serve their members most effectively and strengthen the cooperative movement by working together through the available local, regional, national and international structure.

Co-operatives work for the sustainable development of their communities through policies approved by their members


Interest subsidy for crop loans:

Reduction in the rate of interest on agricultural loans up to Rs.3/- lakh to 0% for Short term Loan and 3% up to 10 lakh for Medium term and Long term loans and a firm commitment by the Govt. to provide interest subsidy on the loans sanctioned by the Primery Agricultural Co operative societies throw District centeral co-operative Bank and PCRDB bank

Interest Subvention for loans to Self Help Groups (SHG’s)’s:

Reduction in the rate of interest on loans to SHGs at 0% for Women, SHGs 4% for Other SHGs and a firm commitment by the Govt. to provide interest subsidy on the loans sanctioned by the co-operative credit institutions.

Tribal Sub Plan – Marketing Infrastructure facilities to LAMPS Federation:

Under this scheme, financial assistance is being given to Karnataka State Cooperative LAMPS Federation and member LAMPS societies for providing marketing infrastructures like Computers, FAX and Telephone etc. and also for construction of godowns /building. Estimated benefit:

Members of LAMP societies will get market for their minor forest produce and thereby they are economically benefited.

Financial Assistance to SC/ST/BC/Minorities Cooperative Societies:

Societies organized by the SC/ST, BCM and Minorities do not have sufficient funds to undertake economic activities for the benefit of their members. Hence with a view to assist these societies to create infrastructure and assets, financial assistance is provided under this scheme.

Enrolment of BPL.SC,ST,Backward Class/Minority,Women,Disabled persons as members of all types of Co-operatives:

The scheme aims to expand the credit base to the weaker sections and minorities in the society by enrolling them as members of Co-operative Societies. An amount equal to the value of one share subject is sanctioned to the society to enrol such beneficiaries.


Basic Statistics

Sl. No Particulars As on 31.01.2022 (Tentative)
1 No. of Cooperatives 342
Sl. No Societies Name Defunct Working Liqudation Total
1 Multi State Co operative societies
2 State level Co operative Societies
3 DCC Bank 1 1
4 PCARD Bank 3 3
5 PACS 73 73
6 LAMPS 3 3
7 Silk Growers Co operative societies 1 1
8 Co operative Grain Bank 86 10 96
9 Urban Co operative Bank 4 4
10 Other Credit Co operative Socities 19 19
11 Employees Credit Co operative Socities 9 3 12
12 TAPCMS 11 11
13 Other Consumer Co operative Socities 2 2
14 Sugar Co operative Socities
15 Processing Co operative Socities 4 4
16 Thread Mill Co operative Socities 1 1
17 Oil Grovers Co operative Socities
18 Livestock Co operative Socities 3 3
19 MPCS 35 1 1 37
20 Co operative Milk Union
21 Joint Formers Co operative Socities 3- 3
22 Lift Irigation Co operative Socities 2 2
23 Irigation Consumers Co operative Socities 4 1 5
24 Fishries Co operative Socities 1 1
25 Weavers Co operative Socities 2 2
26 Other Industrial Co operative Socities 2 2 1 5
27 Industrial Co operative Socities
28 Cunsumer Co operative Socities 7 7
29 Cerntral Co operative wholesale Store 1 1
30 Housing Co operative Socities 1 1
31 Housing Co operative Socities
32 Laborer Co operative Socities
33 Laborer Co operative Socities 1 1
34 District Co operative Marketing Federation 1 1
35 Multipurpose Co operative Union 7 7
36 Multipurpose Co operative Union 7 7
37 Kesha Alankarigala Co operative Societies 11 11
38 Women Multipurpose Co operative Societies 9 9
39 Garibi Hatavo Co operative Societies
40 Tailors Co operative Societies
41 Cobbler Co operative Societies
42 Forest Growers Co operative Societies
43 Hand Pounding Co operative Societies
44 Washer Mans Co operative Societies
45 Electricity Co operative Societies
46 Transport Co operative Societies
47 Co operative Hospital
48 Printing Co operative Societies 1 1
49 woolen Weaver Co operative Societies
50 Other Co operative Societies 7 1 8
  Total 316 3 23 342

Regulatory Functions of the department

Acts and Rules implemented by Co-operation Department.

Organizational Structure of the Department

At District Level Deputy Registrar of Co Operative Societies, Sub-division Assistant Registrar of Co –operative Societies and At Taluk Level Co operative Development Officers are Working

Organization chart of Co-operation Department Kodagu Dist


Information of Working Officers

1 B . K Saleem KCS Deputy Registrar of Co operative Societies Kodagu District Madikeri 08272-228519
2 Ravikumar H.D Assisitant Registrar of Co operative Societies Kodagu District Madikeri 08272-225728
3 M E Mohan Co operative Development Officer Somwarpete Taluk 9880233270
4 M E Mohan Co operative Development Officer Kushalnagara Taluk 9880233270
5 M S Mohan Co operative Development Officer Virajpete Taluk 9449183761
6 M S Mohan Co operative Development Officer Ponnampete Taluk 9449183761
7 Triveni Rao K Co operative Development Officer Madikeri Taluk 9900234309

Statement showing the sanctioned,working and vacancies as on 31-01-2022 of the Department

Sl. No Name of the Post Posts sanctioned Working position Vacancy position
1 Deputy Registrar of Coop Societies 01 01 0
2 Asst, Registrar of Coop Societies 01 01 0
3 Coop. Development Officer 04 04 0
4 Superintendents 02 0 02
5 Sr. Inspectors of CS 02 0 02
6 Inspector of C.S. 07 0 07
7 First Division. Assistant 03 02 01
8 Stenographers 01 0 01
9 Typist 03 0 03
10 Driver 02 0 02
11 Second Division Assistant 07 01 06
12 Process Servers 02 02 0
13 Peons 06 0 06
  Total 41 12 29